Spring 2020 Hospital Safety Grades Have Been Released

The spring 2020 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades have been Released! Please visit www.hospitalsafetygrade.org to view the hospitals your employees use in Colorado. 

A total of 40 Colorado hospitals received grades.  “A” represents the best Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, followed in order by “B,” “C,” “D,” and “F.   16 Colorado hospitals received an “A” grade, 9 hospitals received a “B” grade, 13 hospitals received a “C” grade, 2 hospitals received a “D” grade a no hospitals in Colorado received an “F” grade. The following hospitals have received consistent “A” grades:

  1. Centura Health-Castle Rock Adventist Hospital, Castle Rock
  2. Centura Health-Avista Adventist Hospital, Louisville
  3. Centura Health-St. Francis Medical Center, Colorado Springs
  4. Lutheran Medical Center, Wheat Ridge
  5. Medical Center of Aurora, Aurora
  6. Presbyterian St. Luke’s Medical Center, Denver
  7. Rose Medical Center, Denver
  8. Sky Ridge Medical Center, Lone Tree
  9. Mary’s Hospital & Medical Center, Grand Junction
  10. Swedish Medical Center, Englewood

About the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades

Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades are assigned to over 2,600 general acute-care hospitals across the nation twice annually. The Safety Grade is becoming the gold standard measure of patient safety, cited in MSNBC, The New York Times, and AARP The Magazine.

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses up to 28 national performance measures from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the Leapfrog Hospital Survey and information from other supplemental data sources. Taken together, those performance measures produce a single letter grade representing a hospital’s overall performance in keeping patients safe from preventable harm and medical errors. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade methodology has been peer reviewed and published in the Journal of Patient Safety.

How the Leapfrog Safety Grade is Produced

Leapfrog works under the guidance of an Expert Panel to select the 28 measures mentioned above and develops a scoring methodology. The Expert Panel selects 28 measures of patient safety, analyzes the data and determines the weight of each measure based on evidenceopportunity for improvement and impact. In some cases where a hospital’s information is not available for a certain measure, Leapfrog uses a supplemental data source. In cases where a hospital’s information is not available from any data source, Leapfrog has outlined a methodology for dealing with the missing data.

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade places each measure into one of two domains:

(1) Process/Structural Measures or (2) Outcome Measures, each accounting for 50 percent of the overall score.

  1. Process Measures represent how often a hospital gives patients recommended treatment for a given medical condition or procedure. For example, “Responsiveness of hospital staff” looks at patients’ feedback on how long it takes for a staff member to respond when they request help. Structural Measures represent the environment in which patients receive care. For example, “Doctors order medications through a computer” represents whether a hospital uses a special computerized system to prevent errors when prescribing medications.
  2. Outcome Measures represent what happens to a patient while receiving care. For example, “Dangerous object left in patient’s body” measures how many times a patient undergoing surgery had a dangerous foreign object, like a sponge or tool, left in his or her body.

A hospital must have enough safety data available for the panel experts to issue them a letter grade. Hospitals missing more than seven process measures or more than five outcome measures are not graded. All hospitals are encouraged to voluntarily report additional safety data through the Leapfrog Hospital Survey, but they are not required to do so to receive a Safety Grade.

Some hospitals belong to health systems that report data to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) as a single entity with a shared “Medicare Provider Number (MPN).” This means that individual hospitals within these systems will be graded using the same aggregate data. Leapfrog encourages these types of hospitals to report additional safety data through the Leapfrog Hospital Survey so that patients can see how each hospital is doing individually.

Please be sure to visit hospitalsafetygrade.org and Leapfrog Hospital Survey for additional information or contact Lisa Slavinski at CBGH, lisa.slavinski@cbghealth.org.